Skip to content
28 November 2023

Scotland needs superstar platelet donors this Christmas

Share

Platelets have a very short shelf life – only seven days. Many patients rely on them, including premature babies, cancer patients and emergency admissions. There are 1,097 platelet donors across Scotland, and every single one of them is a star.

However, we know everyone is busy over the festive period. This means we work hard to meet the needs of patients in Scotland on certain days we know we urgently need donors.

We will be collecting platelets on:

  • Sun 24-Dec         Glasgow

  • Tue 26-Dec         Aberdeen, Dundee, Glasgow

  • Wed 27-Dec        Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow

  • Thu 28-Dec         Glasgow

  • Fri 29-Dec           Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow

  • Sat 30-Dec          Edinburgh, Glasgow

  • Sun 31-Dec         Glasgow

  • Tue 02-Jan          Aberdeen, Dundee, Glasgow

  • Wed 03-Jan         Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow

 

Patients can’t thank you themselves, but on behalf of everyone you help this Christmas – thank you.

  • To make your appointment, please make an appointment directly with your usual apheresis centre. Alternatively, contact us online.

 

Current blood stock levels across Scotland Tuesday 27 February

We aim to retain 6 days of stocks at any time in order to meet the requirements of patients in Scotland.

Learn more about blood types